jump to navigation

Thank you Angela! May 27, 2008

Posted by solangek in Gracias! Merci! Thank you!.
Tags: ,
trackback

Angela: a person in my life who reminds me of rosemary, pickles, butter and Metallica. She is a wonderful girl and a wonderful woman. She has a strange softness about her like an aura… or is it a haze of smoke? She definitely smokes too much (but then in my humble opinion, any smoking at all is too much). Actually, she is the sweetest girl, but full of sharp corners like elbows, knees and occasional loudness. She doesn’t hide emotions, but she sure hides thoughts. It is so hard to write about her, because thoughts, emotions and memories tumble all over my mind, like Angela’s beautiful golden hair on a windy day.

I will organize my thoughts. When she was young, we often played together, especially roughly. Then when we were teenagers I admired her slim athletic shape as she took diving lessons. Her parents had a pool and she lived in her bathing suit. She tans beautifully, too. And her mother always measured how tall we were… a race I lost a long time ago (I even came in behind my younger sister). Then her parents broke up… and I guess she did too. She had a hard time as any as a teenager, but for some reason, I feel like she hasn’t completely overcome her teenage disappointments and mistakes yet. Now, she is a mother of two wonderful, smiley sticky babes: a big blond boy and a little sprite of a girl with blond wispy hair. Lately, Angela has lost all her baby weight, looking great again – cheers to you for that!

Very carefully now: I personally feel that her man doesn’t treat her as well as she deserves, but then again, I don’t know him very well. I just know Angela, and I haven’t seen her properly in a few years, only once or twice. But watching them together and spending time with Angela on her own, I sense something has changed… her spark. I suspect she may be slightly oppressed, if I may use the term. She reminds me a little bit of my mother, who has grown bitter from oppression and depression, but Angela isn’t bitter yet. I’m just afraid she may be wilting before she fully blooms. Maybe she isn’t the type of flower that survives a long time in a vase, like chicory, or Johnny-jump-ups. The problem is that they are so fresh and colourful that you can’t help yourself from trying to pick them and bring them home.

I wish I could see her more often, but our respective economies don’t really allow us, especially with the rising cost of gas. I know that seems a little bit pathetic, but she also works strange hours and lives at least 2 hours away by highway. I just hope she knows that I often think of her and wish he well all the time. I wish her the best; I send her imaginary hugs and hope she is happy in spite of the day-to-day stones in her path.

Thank you for everything Angela! The world is a better place because of you.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

